How are you, really?

On Monday I attended a workshop: “Courageous Conversations” hosted by the East-West Center in Hawaii. “Leaders are often called upon to facilitate meaningful, civil, and sometimes difficult conversations” – and these courageous conversations are more important than ever in an increasingly polarized and divisive society. I see courageous conversations as bridge-builders; the opposite of shaming / cancel culture.

In this workshop, we participated in facilitated conversations, in breakout rooms. We answered a series of questions, with time held for each person. We were instructed to draw a heart of a piece of paper, and hold it up if we felt the need to respond – but not to interrupt. The first question was brilliant – each person took 2 minutes to tell the story of their name. This is fun to answer, gives you the opportunity to focus on different parts of your name based on comfort levels, and fascinating to hear about – so much is learned through these stories, and we start out on an appreciative note. I will use this question for future student cohort orientations or other community building events.

We progressed through other questions, which eventually got meatier – Without talking about politics, what are the values that inform your political views? And – Talk about a time that you have experienced, when there were insiders and outsiders. Though the conversations never approached a need to be courageous per se, in less than an hour they set a tone of deep appreciation, caring, and like amongst the groups. The idea is that we will be more likely to listen respectfully to each other, and try to understand each others’ perspectives, if we truly value each other as individuals and as human beings.

I came away with a similar feeling from my PBL group as this iteration of ONL closes, a great admiration for the ways in which my peers are different, and a gratitude for the commonalities that brought us together. But I’ll talk more about that later. 😉

A brave space allows for “controversy with civility,” “owning intentions and impacts,” “challenge by choice,” “respect” and “no attacks”.

(NASPA, 2017. pp. 3-4) as quoted by NC State University’s Office for Institutional Equity & Diversity

I am left in a swirl of ideas – the ways this is so relevant, right now. Amongst all of the impossibly divided discourse, there are signs of a shift. I believe we are becoming ready to listen, to build bridges, to heal. We speak of ‘brave spaces’ (as opposed to safe spaces), there is increased attention to diversity, inclusion and equity, and social justice movements seem to finally be getting some traction. New ideas have emerged into the popular focus, like Brené Brown’s power of vulnerability, and Carol Dweck’s growth mindset.

I am thinking about Annika’s introduction of active listening into our PBL group, the importance of generosity in Indigenous cultures, and an Appreciative Inquiry approach to making change.

“At its heart, AI is about the search for the best in people, their organizations, and the strengths-filled, opportunity-rich world around them. AI is not so much a shift in the methods and models of organizational change, but AI is a fundamental shift in the overall perspective taken throughout the entire change process to ‘see’ the wholeness of the human system and to “inquire” into that system’s strengths, possibilities, and successes. ”

– Excerpt from: Stavros, Jacqueline, Godwin, Lindsey, & Cooperrider, David. (2015). Appreciative Inquiry: Organization Development and the Strengths Revolution. In Practicing Organization Development: A guide to leading change and transformation (4th Edition), William Rothwell, Roland Sullivan, and Jacqueline Stavros (Eds). Wiley as quoted by AI Commons

Back to Courageous Conversations. In our breakout room, one question cracked me wide open: It’s been a tough year. How are you, really? I was surprised to find myself in tears. In the past year, I’ve found many of my supports stripped away, and those I support have needed more from me. That morning, in a burst of inspiration, I had reached out to a career counsellor who had helped me years ago; I am overdue for a career transition and am trying desperately to claw my way out of workplace unhappiness. Her husband responded telling me she had died a few months ago. I was overcome with loss, both for the interesting, clever and kind woman I had come to know in a small way, but also for her role in my life. I felt abandoned.

This unexpected and uncharacteristic vulnerability (and the fact that I felt safe in it) made me realize two things: one, that there was power in the method developed by the workshop organizers, and two, that I need help. I am so bad at asking for help. That day, and in the days since, I have reached out to workplace and personal supports. I already feel a rallying around me. They won’t solve my core problem, but I hope to alleviate my exhaustion enough to find the strength to make the changes necessary.

5 Comments

  1. Lars Harrysson says:

    What an amazing finale. Thank you.
    “This unexpected and uncharacteristic vulnerability (and the fact that I felt safe in it) made me realize two things: one, that there was power in the method developed by the workshop organizers, and two, that I need help. I am so bad at asking for help.”

    The psychologist Kurt Lewin once said something like – if you want to learn about something, try to change it.

    I think that means that it is not the change in itself that matters, but the process of trying, thus making us able to learn about things, such as ourselves.
    /Lars

    Like

  2. Ann Vestfält says:

    Like

  3. Ann Vestfält says:

    What a wonderful post, Andrea. Thank you for sharing. I love the idea of Courageous Conversations, and it is a shift in perspectives from focusing on “safe” to focusing on “courageus”. It sounds like if participants are truly open minded, that kind of workshop could really make a difference to people, and I can imagine the interesting processes that take place in each and every individual after participating in the activities. Whilst reading, I found myself stopping at each example you gave to think “what would I have said”, so I felt like I was taking a mini version of the course myself as I read your blog post!

    I think you are doing the right thing to look at career options, by the way. In our role as teachers, we sometimes give and give. It is important to balance the input and the output. There are situations where we – as teachers – continue to “fill up the tank”. We get inspiration and energy from our students, and perhaps also our colleagues. But there are also situations where teachers can feel drained, and suddenly every day is about giving output. We give and we give. So it is important to ask ourselves the question, how do I get input? What kind of input (“fuel”) do I need? We have been great at using metaphors in our PBL group, and if we compare a teacher with a car (always going somewhere, sometimes with passangers), we know that a car needs some kind of fuel to keep going. And like a car, we – as teachers – need our fuel. We need to keep reevaluating what that fuel is; what our input needs to be so that we can give the best possible output. I hope you evaluate what is important to you and what basically drives you; what gives you that fuel. And I hope you’ll embark on your greatest road trip ever! 🙂

    Like

  4. Liezel says:

    Thank you for sharing, Andrea. As always you bring the depth of your message across in such an uncomplicated way.

    It truly does take courage to learn. And we have the responsibility to admit our own vulnerabilities and identify where we are lacking, before we can be the pillar of support our students need. They look to us to be courageous. But like Ann mentioned, we need to be fully “fueled” to provide that support.

    Like

  5. dbevington says:

    You write powerfully and speak to the creative in us all. Like you, I am not happy in my workplace and looking for the courage to change. Your post gave me much to consider. Food for thought. Thanks for the support.

    Like

Leave a Comment