Focusing energy

Whenever I meet with my group, I feel inspired, refreshed, energized. It’s exactly what I was hoping for, but I don’t have the time to devote myself as much as I’d like – and it leaves me wondering what on earth I’m doing with my time.

These days it’s 2-4 evening meetings a week, plus work all day, plus parenting and gardening and everything else. Considering how much time I’m not enjoying work at the moment, I am spending way too much time and energy there. I feel needed – but my daily work seems to move further from where I want to go and what I want to do.

I was reviewing my CV this morning and it was the perfect moment to do so – I felt it didn’t represent my superpowers – like I’m trying to fit into a world that I don’t even like. I love learning, putting ideas together in different ways, collaborating, and enjoying shared moments of inspiration. I love applying design to the real world – through making, curriculum, systems, and culture. I love building mutually appreciative, trusting working relationships that make the work feel like play. I give no shits for money or paperwork, but I can work in that world effectively. I need to leave that world behind, consciously, deliberately, even though it feels like a ‘career limiting move’ from an outside perspective.

One thing that has sparked this thinking in my PBL group is the ways we work in metaphor. Though I work better, and happier, in this place – I wouldn’t have had the courage to lead my teams using these techniques. Seeing the diversity of our group – and yet it still works – I am encouraged. Less fitting in with the institution, more fitting in with myself.

3 Comments

  1. Lars Harrysson says:

    Well, when there is a chance to stretch boundaries, still in a safe environment, I am happy it is enlightening. What you can do with this experience later is a question of reflection and design of new ideas. In a world of conformity, for various reasons, it is important to at least allow ourselves to think the thought of doing something different.

    Like

  2. dbevington says:

    This post made me think of te Monty Python phrase that was the title for a series the group put together: “And Now For Something Completely Different.” A career linmiting move can liberate in other ways.

    Like

  3. dbevington says:

    This post made me think of the Monty Python phrase that was the title for a series the group put together: “And Now For Something Completely Different.” A career limiting move can liberate in other ways.

    Like

Leave a Comment